5 Hair Struggles Everyone With Natural Hair Will Understand

I consider natural hair memes an essential part of my hair journey because in times of frustration, it’s great to have something that you can relate to, humors you and inspires you.

Having natural hair isn’t a piece of cake and it’s nice to know that you’re not the only one having hair struggles especially with all the perfect natural hair pictures and videos on the web.

1) The constant battle of defeating knots and tangles called detangling.

image

Screaming internally

2) Hairstyle fails.

image

Shout out to those naturals who get perfect bantu knot outs, twist outs, flexi rod sets and braid outs every time.

3) Managing to finally style your hair and then having your plans fall through.

image

I didn’t do that complex tuck and pin updo for nothing.

4) Getting bombarded with annoying questions.

image

Read a book on genetics.

5) Everyone wanting to touch your hair.

image

Please don’t, especially when I spent hours fluffing that braid out. Ask for permission first, not everyone is comfortable with you touching their hair.

Coming to terms with your natural hair struggles:

image

It’s alright to accept that hair struggles are a big part of being natural. It’s alright to accept that your hair won’t always look perfect. It’s alright to be frustrated with your natural hair.

You’re not going through it alone, I and others are definitely there with you. No matter how hard it gets, remember that you’re amazing and unique. Bad days will happen but you’ll get through it somehow and come out like the beautiful goddess that you are. Keep slaying!

Don’t forget to use the hash tag #glamnaturalfriday on instagram or send me a DM @itx_mimi to show off your hair and be featured here on Fridays as a glam natural.

What are your natural hair struggles?

26 thoughts on “5 Hair Struggles Everyone With Natural Hair Will Understand

  1. LOL! All of this was me for 4 years, but now I’m starting my loc journey and now my life is the exact opposite. I just wish my hair would lock as quickly as it did before I decided to dread my hair.

    Liked by 1 person

        1. I’ve seen someone similar, she kept on cutting her hair but it’d still lock whenever it grew back. I can not imagine how detangling must have been exhausting for you.

          Liked by 1 person

    1. πŸ˜‚ I know right, we really have to deal with a lot. I’ve been avoiding detangling for a long time and I don’t bother with twists and twist outs anymore. You aren’t alone, stay strong! πŸ˜„

      Like

    1. πŸ˜„ I’m so happy for you! I hope she’ll grow up to love herself and her hair above societal views. Sometimes we all need something to remind us. I hope you stay inspired and blessed!

      Like

  2. Haha YES going natural can be a struggle but it’s so worth it. I recently talked about all my struggles my own self because I think we should give people a realistic view so that they don’t feel like it’s just them that be struggling out here. Loved this post!
    aimingformore.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Delia our hair is just that amazing but the touching can be really annoying at times. They’re not satisfied with “it’s all my hair”, they always wanna touch it. Combined together, we’d be way richer than her.

      Like

  3. The natural hair journey is a pain but I got through it. I realized that I wouldn’t be able to keep my hair straight with a straightening comb or flat iron, so I accepted wearing weaves for those desired straight, wavy styles. Braids for more natural styles, and I’m trying to get comfortable wearing my fro. I’m trying to find a nice color and cut to sport my fro. I have been thru the tangles. I have sit for hours picking thru the nots/tangles. I have gottened frustrated and whacked off many inches of my hair. I use a metal prong pick now and it separates my hair perfectly. I wouldn’t trade my natural for anything. Six years in the game now.

    Like

Leave a Reply

