Do You Have Short Natural Hair? Here Are Some Great Hairstyles And Inspiration!

image

I wish I saw pictures of hairstyles for short natural hair when my hair was still struggling to come out of its TWA stage but the good news is I can still rock them on my shrunken hair.

For my short hair naturals, whether short hair is your personal choice or you are trying to grow out your hair, always know that no matter the length, your hair is beautiful.

You can tweet this

Do not hide your hair and only plan to show it off when it grows longer and looks better to you, you’ll regret it like I did.

Here are some ideas and inspiration:

None of these pictures are mine. Source pinterest

image

Each hairstyle explained:

1st pic (Cornrows & Bangs):

Cornrows on the side, divide the front section into 3, tuck and pin to to side. Add a scarf for the finishing touch.

2nd pic (Puff):

Gather hair to the middle of your head, put in a puff & decorate with a cute hairband.

3rd pic (Front puff):

Gather hair to the front of your head & secure with an elastic band to make a front puff.

4th pic (Fab Updo):

Cornrow the sides, flat twist the back & randomly tuck and pin your hair in the middle. Gather the front section, tuck and pin it.

5th pic (Ponytail Mohawk):

5) Divide your hair into 4 or 5 sections horizontally, put each section in a ponytail or just secure each side with bobby pins.

For more curl definition, you can set your hair with flexi rods or perm rods.

6th pic (Perm rod set):

Make a side part & set your hair with perm rods, roller sets or flexi rods (the small sizes). Take it down & fluff.

7th pic (Finger coils):

You can achieve this by applying gel or a styling product to damp hair & twisting small sections around your finger.

Accessories are often underrated or forgotten but they can change everything.

image

4 great accessories (beanie, bandana, headband and hat) are shown above. Even a scarf or Puff cuff can really help on a bad hair day.

Always have at least one accessory on hand, you never know when you might need one.

image

This is a really beautiful hairstyle. It’s a fro with a side twist.

Steps:

1) Comb out your fro & make a part on one side of your hair.

2) Flat twist or braid the small section & pin it to the middle mohawk.

Add gel to the side and brush.

I hope these inspired you, whether you are trying to grow out your hair or you want to stay in the TWA stage because it is alright if you want to keep your hair short.

How do you style your short natural hair?

15 thoughts on “Do You Have Short Natural Hair? Here Are Some Great Hairstyles And Inspiration!

  1. Hi Mimi, My name is Krissy. I love your blog posts and have found inspiration in the amount of growth you have had. I have my own blog and this may seem like advertisement but I really love you blog. Please check mine out if you can. Luv ya. ~ Krissy

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Krissy! I’m really glad you’ve been inspired. I checked your blog & loved it! I realized I’d actually been too your blog before, Great job! I just subscribed πŸ˜€

      My data is almost finished so I’ll send an email later, Have a great day!

      Like

  2. Do let me know how they turn out πŸ™‚

    Having you tried watching some youtube videos on cornrows tutorial? I think it’ll help you get the hang of it. I went to a lot of boarding schools so I watched others doing it & starting practicing on my hair for a while before getting it.

    Thanks for stopping by πŸ™‚ have a great day

    Like

        1. Yes, it does make the hair more manageable. The thing is, the places where your texturized hair meets your normal natural hair will be the weakest & most fragile part of your hair.

          I’ve not tried it but I’ve read some blogs of people who texturize and are totally fine with it.

          For me, keeping my hair stretched most of the time takes away the stress. My life changed when I started blow drying. If that doesn’t work for you, you can texlax/texturize your hair.

          Your comfortability is very important.

          Like

        2. These websites explain more and also says the pros and cons like your new hair pattern being different all over your hair, etc.

          http://baucemag.com/the-truth-behind-texturizers-and-texlaxing/

          http://www.naturalhairrules.com/texturizers/

          Also, like I said earlier there are hair bloggers who texturize. Some are also on YouTube.

          You can read or watch to know their experiences and make a choice. If you decide to texturize, don’t let the haters out there discourage you. It’s your hair not theirs.

          I hope this helps! You can still ask me anything, I’m always here πŸ˜‰

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

