Life As A Natural Hair Teen

image
Natural hair teens

I can summarize it in one sentence ‘It’s not easy’. This isn’t my hair story, just a generalized daily living with natural hair that most of us especially natural teens can relate to. I’m saying the cons first so we’ll know that natural hair doesn’t always mean perfect hair everyday.

The combination of school, hair, social life, teen stages and other things can be full & hetic sometimes. Makes you just wanna stay in your bed and forget about everything.

 We see older naturals & love them but…..sometimes when we see them, their sister, nieces and grandma get a perfect twist out always plus 5 or more years of being natural and at waist length, we want in too but with other teens. This is why I became a natural hair teen blogger so I can relate to other natural hair teens.

It feels like they’ve got it all laid down, married, working, caring for their hair. Plus they are adults,past the stage of wavering self esteem.

I’m not saying they don’t have bad days, we all do. I’m just saying I need people around my age too. We can speak in teen language and explain ourselves more. But where are naturals hair teens hiding? I can hardly find any in Nigeria oh.
image

 Walking on the streets with my hair always generates talk. Most times negative. I’m the ‘I don’t care’ type but there are others out there who aren’t and the society isn’t even giving them any support. The annoying part is this is Africa & most look down on my natural hair.

Also, lack of salons that can do my hair, products that actually work without eating up my wallet and other things are part of the cons.

The good part

image

I freaking love it!!! Who ever thought you could be fascinated by your own hair?? It feels like this was meant for me. I don’t know why I didn’t go natural sooner.

I like waking up in the morning, seeing my braids at another angle from how I kept them and turning it into a beautiful high bun that gets haters googling. It’s wonderful being an inspiration to others even my mum.

I discovered i love doing diy products like crazy and trying new natural hairstyles. Plus it led me to blogging and you beautiful people, I’m thankful for that.
     
I don’t have to explain to anyone about my reasons for going natural, it’s a take me or leave me deal. This is me. My hair comes with the package. I am proud to be natural.

This is the hard truth y’all and you are not alone out there.

   “The best hair moments are what makes the struggle worth it” -Me.

Keep going strong natural hair teens!

Share your daily good & bad natural moments.

6 thoughts on “Life As A Natural Hair Teen

  1. i really agree with you..im a teen too..and ive just opened a blog with the purpose of helping blackgirls here in italy to go natural with no fear .. subscribe, comment, feel free to share your opinions. naturalframeofmind.wordpress.com

    Like

  2. yay! a teen finally…. just followed your blog,love what ur doing,you really have to have a natural frame of mind before starting this journey or else…..u might drop out.thanks for stopping by gal! also all opinions are accepted here,feel free

    Liked by 1 person

  3. bless your heart,I just opened one today..don’t really understand it so I logged out but I’ll start again tomorrow my username is itx_mimi what’s urs?

    Like

  4. yesss!!! lol, thanks so much 4 d comment, means a lot. Plus maybe I should relocate to Lagos bcos natural hair here in ph isn’t easy to see. anyways I’m glad ur repping us jare…..will keep d posts coming 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

